Have you ever wondered why some people run warm and some run cold? Or why one person loves spicy food and another one can’t stand hot spices? Or why some people are always mellow and calm and others are prone to nervousness and stress?

The Ayurvedic answer is easy–it’s because we are each a unique balance of the three doshas or mind-body types. Ayurveda is the ancient healing system of India, and rather than being one-size-fits-all, it is highly individualized. Since no two people are exactly alike, it follows that no two people should eatexactly alike. By teaching us to better understand ourselves and our true nature, Ayurveda gives us the tools to live in greater health and harmony. In this article we will explore some of the basic underpinnings of this ancient life science.

YouTube video

All things in nature are made of the five elements: earth, water, fire, air, and ether. Those 5 elements have a manifestation in our body (organs) and (Chakras)

Now, when you know the basics let’s talk about the cause of most common diseases. The source of all problems is in our guts.

  • Poor digestive system which is not being able to break and absorb proteins (sticky substance called Ama is created and travelling to the weakest part of the body creating inflammation)
  • Poor microbiome – bacterias are not getting enough food (kefir, fermented food) to protect us from viruses
  • Body exposed for too low temperature foo long
  • Stress
  • Lack of sleep and many more.

What are stages of disease according to Ayurveda?

Stage One: Accumulation The three doshas, Vata, Pitta, and Kapha, are three mind-body operators that govern the body’s functioning. The doshas themselves are not physical — they are principles of intelligence. When the
three doshas are in balance, the Body is healthy and mind is clear. However, through imbalanced diet, lifestyle, and exposure to stress and environmental factors, one or more of the doshas can begin to become imbalanced. In the first stage of imbalance the dosha increases in quantity, or “accumulates.” In Stage One, the dosha accumulates in its location. For example, Vata dosha (elements Air+Space) may accumulate in the brain, colon, nerves, or in empty spaces and channels of the body. Pitta dosha (elements Fire+Water) may accumulate in the digestive tract, eyes or skin. Kapha (elements Earth+Water) may accumulate in the sinuses, chest and the fluid substances of the body, such as the joint fluids and circulatory systemmalaise.
the weakest and begin disrupting its functions.

In this stage the disease manifests in its full-blown, clearly identifiable form. The functioning of the tissues is disrupted by the complex of ama mixed with the imbalanced dosha. In the example of Kapha dosha and ama localizing in the head and chest, the scratchy throat and heaviness in the head is now experienced as the full-blown syndrome of congestion in the form of a common cold, sore throat, sinusitis, or an allergy attack.